Woman of Distinction

Contact WLG

Lisa B Gilbert (Smith)  


Red Mountain

Acacia Village
P: 480-654-7765 | District WLG


Fall & Spring Semesters:
Mon-Thu: 8 am - 7 pm
Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
Closed Sat and Sun

Summer Semester:
Mon-Thu: 7 am - 6 pm
Closed Fri, Sat and Sun

The MCC Women's Leadership Group is pleased to announce Dr. Betsy Hertzler as Mesa Community College's 2012 Woman of Distinction!

Among her many contributions to MCC and Maricopa Colleges, Dr. Hertzler serves as our History Faculty and has dedicated over10 years as the Faculty Director of the MCC Honors Program.

Women Honored for Leadership, Innovation & Service

Leadership, innovation, service to women along with service to the Maricopa Community Colleges are the key characteristics for the winners of the Distinguished Achievement Award.

This is an annual honor sponsored by the Women's Leadership Group/American Association of Women in Community Colleges (WLG/AAWCC) of the Maricopa Community Colleges. Listed below are Mesa Community College's Women of Distinction who have been acknowledged in previous years.

  • 2012 - Dr. Betsy Hertzler, Honors Program Faculty Director & History Faculty
  • 2011 - Sonya Pearson, Vice President of Student Affairs
  • 2010 - Juanita Tarango, Program Advisor-Multicultural & Student Success Center
  • 2009 - Jo Wilson, Dean of Instruction/Directoz
  • 2008 - Lyn Dutson, Theatre Director, Communications Faculty
  • 2007 - Skip Pollock, Psychology Faculty
  • 2006 - Judy Taussig, Dean of Student Affairs
  • 2004 - Susan Taffer, Program Advisor
  • 2005 - Elva Marin, Administrative Assistant
  • 2003 - Joni Grover, Director of Financial Aid
  • 2002 - Carol Achs, Senior Associate Dean
  • 2001 - Deb DeVore, Scholarship Coordinator
  • 2000 - Janice Comer
  • 1999 - Pam Olerich, Women's Basketball Coach

Forms & Downloads